Employing/contracting developers

(Joel Warren) #1

This is something that’s on my mind a lot. I’ve been running a web design/development business for 2 years now, and it’s always been just me.

In the past, I’ve passed work around to some other freelancers and guys I know when I couldn’t fit a project in. But as I grow my clientelle, and wanting to grow my business, the next step feels like I need more inside help.

I’m wondering if anyone’s been through this process before and has some tips.

(Niels van Renselaar) #2

Yes I did. And then, I didn’t. Having someone work for you is a big thing. They need to have a paycheck every month and there are a lot of rules and regulations you have to consider. You can’t just ditch a employee when you have no work for them, like you can do with a freelancer.

My biggest reason to just run solo is my work rhythm. I don’t just work from 9 till 17. My workday is scattered trough the day. When employing someone you have to be in a regular rhythm and a natural good leader. Also take in consideration that the work you do will change. You have to take up more of a communication and project-leader role, rather then developing.

For me, I’d like to keep the line short, keep doing what I love: developing. Clients choose me because it’s personal, I get things done quick and I don’t have to bill them for every minute…

(Leland Fiegel) #3

Really interesting question. I tend to side with @nielsvr, for the same reason that I prefer to work solo and contract help on an as-needed basis.

However, you’ll notice all the top agencies employ a full-time team. Presuming they have the ongoing work to sustain it, this seems to really be the only way to truly grow and scale your business, while you step back into more of a manager/supervisor role.