Minecraft Server for WordPress peeps

(Hudson Atwell) #1

Ok so I like playing MineCraft to wind down but am not interested in playing alone or with complete strangers. I was wondering if there were any other minecrafters out there and if anyone has any interest on starting up a server (or sharing one) for wp chatters to play on?

I’ve launched a couple of twitter pleas to join a server with other WordPressers without any luck. What do you guys think?

(Leland Fiegel) #2

I don’t play MineCraft, but I’ll help spread the word. :smiley:

(Mr GrumpyPants) #3

Ok, so I’m new to wpchat… Just saw this post tweeted is all… But I used to run minecraft servers. I am currently taking a hiatus due to the crap that’s happened with bukkit and Mojang/Microsoft… Was waiting to see if some kind of sense was going to be made over it, so far I haven’t seen any word on it being worked out, but I guess I could always start a vanilla server or something. It sucks though because I loved all of the features and tools from my bukkit server.

(Hudson Atwell) #4

Dude I would love that even if it was just you and I. I just want a place to build where I know other people in the WordPress community are going to be.

Do those bukkit servers still work? There looks like there are all kinds of crazy mods still in use by the guys over at Twitch.tv. I’m out of the loop.

(Mr GrumpyPants) #5

I am not sure that anything is still being done on bukkit anymore - they weren’t releasing updates for the new versions of Minecraft because of a retarded DMCA issue. I did a bit of research tho and there seems to be rumors of getting it to work with a bit of a hack, so I may cautiously delve into that territory, but I’m a bit skeptical. Having the latest version of Minecraft with bukkit would be pretty sweet. Otherwise the old bukkit servers still work, they’re just outdated.