Recent Posts Shortcode & Widget Plugin Feedback

(raj) #1

Hi All,

Newbie here. Recently I released a plugin Recent Posts Shortcode & Widget

It is simple plugin display latest posts in a page or in sidebar by using shortcode [recentposts-sc]

However the plugin doesn’t seems to attract lot of downloads or installs. I wanted feedback on the plugin if there is something I am missing? Whether any important feature which should be included as well?

Or it needs proper promotion about which I am not sure as I want to keep the plugin free and do not intend to go for paid promotions. How can I increase the reach of the plugin better?

Or in short how can I make the plugin better?

Any feedback and response is welcome.

(Leland Fiegel) #2

A few miscellaneous thoughts:

I would consider dropping the “& Widget” part of the name, because this doesn’t appear to be a widget.

Being able to put a shortcode inside a text widget, as illustrated in the below screenshot that I found on your plugin page, doesn’t qualify as a widget.

Side note, I’m guessing code is added to the plugin that enables shortcodes inside text widgets? Because they are not parsed by default.

If so, I would make sure the code you add just parses your [recentposts-sc] shortcode, and not all of them like, if it doesn’t already do that.

The plugin Recent Posts Widget Extended is a good example of a standalone recent posts widget.

You’re instructing users to manually fill out all the shortcode attributes. Your “combination of several parameters” example highlights how overwhelming this can be:

[recentposts-sc numberofposts=”7″ post_type=”post” get_cat_name=”true” category=”lesson” author=”admin” excerpt_more=”true” label=”Read More…” after=”January 5th, 2015″ before=”October 6th, 2015″ include_author=”true” orderby=”name” order=”DSC” excerptlength=30 post_ids=”181,189,194″ offset=”0″ tag=”lesson1,lesson2,lesson” meta_key=”size” meta_value=”small, medium”]