Seeking Mentorship for Code Reviews and Improvement

(Mimi) #1

Hello! I discovered this board when attending a WordPress meetup. It’s nice to meet all of you. I am a developer with 3 years agency experience developing both custom WP themes and static site builds. The languages I work with on a daily basis are HTML, CSS/SASS, Javascript/jQuery, and PHP-- pretty standard for a WP developer.

I am seeking mentorship or guidance from an experienced developer who is willing to do some quick code reviews and provide advice. This can be both WordPress related or just general programming best-practices. Even just leaving a comment here would be appreciated, but ideally I am looking for someone with whom I can exchange emails or messages.

My goals are to become a fully-rounded developer, primarily focusing on javascript mvc frameworks. I’m entirely self-taught; if I had the money to attend a coding bootcamp I definitely would, but until then I need to leech knowledge from hands-on experience.

I have some personal projects on my GitHub, as well as the theme for my portfolio site.

My workflow is: local development with MAMP, automation with Gulp (compile sass, validate/minify js, optimize images), and deploying code via git.

I love front-end, I would prefer to work with the presentation view of an application or website as I believe that a client or end-user often judges a site/app based off of fancy UI interactions, rather than fully appreciating functionalities it may offer. However I do recognize that this limits me both professionally and personally.

So please, take a moment of your time to review my work and let me know what I can do to improve.

Thank you in advance.

(Ben) #2

Hi Mimi - welcome to wpchat :slight_smile: