Single WordPress Theme Shop vs Multiple WordPress Theme Shop

(Damith) #1

Single Theme Shop : WP Astra, Ocean WP

Multiple Theme Shop : Theme Junkie, My Theme Shop

I am a WordPress plugin developer, but like to enter the theme business .

What are the advantages / disadvantages of Single Theme Shop vs Multiple Theme Shop as a WP business theme owner?

My plan is to fork a theme and adding more features and build a business like WP Astra for a specific area something like “Best Adsense Optimized WordPress Theme in the Market”.

What type of research should I do before starting it? What type of things should I do to success my business?

Thanks.

(Leland Fiegel) #2

Coming from the perspective of someone who runs a “multiple WordPress theme shop,” as with anything, each business model has its pros and cons.

Having multiple themes can be tough to maintain. If WordPress has a new core feature (like Gutenberg), you have to apply that to each of your themes, not just one.

You might be able to get around this by going the framework/child theme route, like Genesis, but I’m guessing each child theme would still have to be checked to make sure new features work as expected.

On the other hand, all-in-one themes (I like to call them Frankenthemes) aren’t necessarily easy to maintain either because they tend to be much more complicated to meet the needs of a broader customer base.

With that said, I often hear of other people who don’t buy my themes in favor of these Frankenthemes “because they have more options.” These people like to tinker and customize their themes extensively without writing any code. That’s fine, as this isn’t my target market. But if it sounds like yours, then it’s something you may want to consider.