What are the best ways to increase traffic to a plugin / theme business?

(Eric Daams) #1

Continuing the discussion from You’re starting a theme business. Should you sell on ThemeForest?:

@NateWr, I hope you don’t mind me spinning this off into a new discussion, but I feel like it’s a topic worth exploring. I really hear you about the A/B testing comment. I have never run a really high traffic site, so I always feel like that stuff is a little pointless for me.

So this is a new topic with a new question, both for you and others on here: What are the best ways to build traffic for your plugin/theme store’s website?

Tips to further increase the popularity of a plugin
(Nate Wright) #2

I don’t know if I’m really the best person to offer advice. I’m not sure if I’ve really been all that successful. But I have started from nothing – no sales on ThemeForest, no standing in the community, no following. I was a journalist not too long ago!

A lot of the theme shop advice out there comes from established brands which are in a totally different position. Their product announcements are getting retweeted by prominent members of the community and sometimes covered by big websites. They have loyal customer bases that help jump-start their product launches, provide good social proof and reviews, help beta test upcoming products, etc.