What is the best framework to create a theme?

(Nicolas Lecocq) #1

Hello everyone :slight_smile:

Personally, I use Redux Framework, it is a little difficult to learn, but once done, it is great.
In addition, recently, most of the options are compatible with the customizer, which super to submit a theme wp.org.
You can add features such as metabox or to create unlimited sidebars, but for that you have to buy premium extensions.

I wonder, what framework you use to create your wordpress themes?

(Leland Fiegel) #2

I use Underscores for everything now.

I’ve never used Redux before. It sounds pretty cool but it seems like overkill for the super simple themes I like to make.

(Nicolas Lecocq) #3

Hello, this is not what I meant by framework :slight_smile:
I want to know the framework that you use for your themes options, change the header, select your blog style, etc.

(Ben) #4

I have my own starter theme that’s based on Underscores.

No need for a ‘framework’ - imo a well designed theme needs very few options.

For headers - use the WordPress custom headers and other functionality. You can also use functionality from Jetpack which adds custom standardized custom post types for things like portfolios.

All other options use the Customizer. I see no reason to use anything else :slight_smile:

(Nicolas Lecocq) #5

Yes but for themes with many options, use a framework, for example, the theme Avada is forced to use a panel.

(Ben) #6

Have you seen Make theme? They have loads of options as well - and they do everything through the Customizer.

I’d argue that having too many options makes themes difficult to maintain and increases the liklihood of bugs. I prefer to go with the WordPress philosophy of Decisions, not Options. I’m a web designer and so I decide what is best for the theme.

Note that I earn a comfortable living from selling my themes on http://prothemedesign.com - albeit not as much as Avada has made, but do you really need all that money? :slight_smile: